MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 4 - SKAGIT VALLEY COLLEGE Friday, September 25, 2020 – 2:30 p.m.

BOARD MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Ms. Kathryn Bennett, Chair Ms. Flora Perez-Lucatero Ms. Lindsay Fiker Ms. Megan Scott O'Bryan Mr. Christon Skinner

Dr. Thomas Keegan, President & Executive Secretary to the Board

I. CALL TO ORDER:

The meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m. on September 25, 2020.

II. ROLL CALL AND DECLARATION OF A QUORUM:

The Chair, Kathryn Bennett, recognized that a quorum of Board members were present.

- III. ACTION ITEM
 - 1. Recommendation of Authorization to Appoint an Administrative Law Judge as Hearing Officer, as stated in Section 14.6.2 of the faculty Collective Bargaining Agreement

The Chair stated that the purpose of today's meeting was for the Board to take action on the authorization of an Administrative Law Judge as Hearing Officer. She then asked Dr. Keegan to provide background on the issue.

Dr. Keegan stated that the issue for the Board is to approve an Administrative Law Judge as the Hearing Officer in the Morris Reduction in Force case.

He stated that a committee of three faculty, one administrator, and one student will hear the case, and along with the Hearing Officer, will make a recommendation to the Board regarding the reduction in force and that the final decision rests with the Board. He also noted that both the Faculty Union and Administration have agreed to this approach detailed in the faculty Collective Bargaining Agreement. Board Special Meeting Minutes September 25, 2020 2

> It was moved by Megan Scott O'Bryan and seconded by Lindsay Fiker to approve the appointment of an Administrative Law Judge as the Hearing Officer, as stated in Section 14.6.2 of the faculty Collective Bargaining Agreement.

The Chair requested a roll call vote: Lindsay Fiker – aye; Christon Skinner – aye; Megan Scott O'Bryan – aye; Flora Perez-Lucatero – aye; Kathryn Bennett – aye

MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

IV. ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, this meeting was adjourned at 2:35 p.m.

Kathryn Bennett, Chair

Dr. Thomas A. Keegan, President Executive Secretary to the Board