MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 4 SKAGIT VALLEY COLLEGE

Tuesday, March 28, 2022 4:00 p.m. Via Zoom

BOARD MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Ms. Flora Perez-Lucatero, Chair

Ms. Kathryn Bennett

Ms. Mariko Doerner

Mr. Ozell Jackson III

Ms. Megan Scott O'Bryan

I. CALL TO ORDER:

The meeting was called to order at 4:05 p.m.

II. DECLARATION OF A QUORUM

The Chair, Flora Perez-Lucatero, recognized that a quorum of Board members were present.

III. EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Chair announced that the Board would convene into Executive Session to evaluate the qualifications of an applicant for public employment. She stated that she anticipated that the discussion would take five minutes and that the Board planned to take action when they returned to open session.

Convened into Executive Session at 4:06 p.m. Adjourned the Executive Session at 4:15 p.m.

IV. OPEN SESSION

The Chair reconvened the Board meeting into Open Session at 4:16 p.m. and asked for a motion.

It was moved by Kathryn Bennett and seconded by Megan Scott O'Bryan that the Board of Trustees approve an employment contract for Dr. Christopher Villa to serve as President of Skagit Valley College for a three year period to begin September 1, 2022 through June 30, 2025, and to authorize the Chair of the Board to sign the contract on behalf of the College.

The Chair asked for a roll call vote: Megan Scott O'Bryan: aye; Kathryn Bennett: aye; Mariko Doerner: aye; Ozell Jackson: aye; Flora Perez-Lucatero: aye.

MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

The Chair welcomed and congratulated Dr. Villa.	Megan Scott O'Bryan and Kathryn Bennett
stated that they are looking forward to the transiti	ion and working with Dr. Villa.

Dr. Villa expressed his deep appreciation to the Board, the College community, and Dr. Keegan for their support. He and his family are looking forward to joining SVC.

V.	ADJOURNMENT:	
	There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:19 p.m.	
	Flora Perez-Lucatero, Chair	Dr. Thomas A. Keegan, President Executive Secretary to the Board